Log in

Top Stories        News         Sports

Go Texan awards two $20K scholarships

Write a comment
Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

Go Texan Kids

By Chris Edwards
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

HOUSTON – Two Tyler County graduates made history recently, courtesy of the Houston-based Go Texan organization.

Laura David, who heads up the county’s area Go Texan committee, reported that for the first time since 1972, two deserving graduates from the county received the big $20,000 Go Texan scholarships, Woodville Class of 2023 graduates Savannah Ludewig and Sydnie Odom.

The money raised for the Go Texan scholarships comes from the annual Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo.

Both Ludewig and Odom plan on attending Texas A&M in the fall. Ludewig is pursuing a degree in nursing, while Odom is majoring in psychology.

David said she wants to congratulate both girls for their scholarships and welcome them to the HLSR family.

The county’s Go Texan Committee is active, and volunteers at the Tyler County Fair, among other fundraisers. Through donations and fundraisers, the Tyler County Area Go Texan committee was able to award seven students scholarships, ranging from $250 to $500 from all five of the county’s schools.

Two of the districts had two students from each school winning scholarships, so the disbursement was split between the both of them, in $250 increments. Those winners are: Reed Best (Colmesneil); Jack Rayburn (Chester); Lacey Chapman and Seth Snider (Spurger); Dusty Clinard and Natalie Standley (Warren) and Lauren Gressler (Woodville).

David said, on behalf of the county’s Go Texan committee, she wants to wish all the students who were awarded scholarships continued success throughout their college careers and beyond.

To get involved with the county’s Go Texan committee, contact David at 936-635-9847.

Say something here...
symbols left.
You are a guest
or post as a guest
Loading comment... The comment will be refreshed after 00:00.

Be the first to comment.