Log in

Top Stories        News         Sports

Groveton dominates home tournament

Write a comment
Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

Jackson Cathey slides under the Zavalla pitcher for the score.Jackson Cathey slides under the Zavalla pitcher for the score.

TCNS staff

GROVETON — The Indians went 5-1 in their annual Indian Classic tournament over the weekend.

Groveton downed Trinity 7-1, Snook 6-1, Elkhart 7-6, Zavalla 18-4 and Woden 10-0, while losing its only game to Chireno 2-0.

On Thursday against Snook, Dax Parker, Ty Torregrossa, Cash Moore and Cade White each had a hit in the game. Jack Sullivan tossed 12 strikeouts from the mound, while giving up only 1 run and 3 hits.

Other stats were not available.

On Feb. 27, Groveton downed Trinity 15-5.


The Bulldogs went 1-2 at the Latexo Tournament, winning 7-6 against Slocum but losing 14-5 to and 9-5 against Neches.

On Friday against Slocum, Wyatt Clede went 2-for-3, while Landon Teeters went 1-for-2 with 2 RBIs. Clede also struck out 8 while allowing 6 runs on 4 hits.

On Saturday against Neches, Landon Teeters went 2-for-3 with an RBI, and Anthony Villanueva went 1-for-2 with 2 RBIs.

Centerville lost to Broaddus 17-1 on Feb. 27.

Eli Emmons went 2-for-2, while Landon Teeters and Wyatt Clede each went 1-for-2. Emmons and Clede combined for 4 strikeouts while giving up 12 hits.

Apple Springs

The Eagles went 1-3 at the Latexo Tournament, winning over Latexo 11-4 but losing to Dawson 8-3, Slocum 5-2 and Chester 10-4.

On Saturday against Slocum, Kail Rogers and Connor Kaufman each had a hit apiece. Tristen Eddins tossed 9 strikeouts and gave up 5 runs on 8 hits.

On Friday against Dawson, Zeth Dugat led the offense with 3 hits, including a double. Dugat and Tristen Eddins shared mound duties, combining for 4 strikeouts while giving up 8 runs on 10 hits.

On Feb. 27, the Eagles blanked Slocum 10-0.

Say something here...
symbols left.
You are a guest
or post as a guest
Loading comment... The comment will be refreshed after 00:00.

Be the first to comment.