Log in

Top Stories        News         Sports

Groveton students progressing along with school year

Write a comment
Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

StudentProgress STCK

By Jo Ann Anderson Beken

It is hard to believe that another calendar year has passed, and half of the school year is over. Thank you to all the Groveton ISD staff members, students, and community folks who work, plan, support and organize the many activities for our students.

Numerous activities and competitions occur and most of them are posted on our Groveton Ex-Student’s Facebook page, so check them out. Homecoming, football, volleyball, cross-country, UIL competitions, FFA and 4-H contests, cosmetology, the Veteran’s Day Celebration (almost 1,000 people registered.), and much more.

Our Groveton students make us proud in all aspects of their representation of the Groveton Indian family and our community. Thank you for continuing the winning spirit and pride we all learned in those halls at GHS. Our best wishes for a successful Spring semester as additional sports and activities begin.

•Our college students are finishing up their fall classes and will be submitting to us their grades, as well as their proposed schedules for the spring semester. Students were sent an email in October reminding them of the process and deadlines.

Requirements for continued funding of their scholarships include a GPA of at least 2.5 and completing at least 12 hours per semester. Once those requirements are submitted and verified by our Secretary, Liz Ledbetter, she forwards the information to our Treasurer, Tim Coker, who issues the funding to the designated college for each scholarship recipient.

In May, we will review scholarship applications from our seniors of the Class of 2023, as well as current college students, and the process continues. How satisfying to observe the vision of the dedicated Groveton school supporters who created the Groveton Ex-Student’s Association in the 1970s as it continues to thrive and fulfil the goal of the association.

Many people before us had the insight and the skills to use this process year-after-year to help Groveton students earn their college degree. Generous donors provided the funds. We are thankful to the creators of the association, as well as the various members of the Executive Board over these many years for their dedication to the process. We are proud to carry on your work.

We are grateful for a generous donation by the family of Barney Callahan to fund his memorial scholarship that is awarded each year in May to a Groveton graduate. Mr. Callahan was a well-respected member of our community and was the ultimate Groveton supporter. He has several children and grandchildren who graduated from Groveton high schools and who are valuable members of their communities, both in Groveton and surrounding areas.

We are honored to remember Mr. Callahan and his contributions to Groveton through this scholarship. Thank you to his family.

•Since my last article, we have, sadly, lost ten members of our Groveton school family. We are going to miss Mark Hester, Class of 1972; Horace M. Fletcher, Class of 1946; Shirley Barnett Headley, Class of 1966; Marvin Thompson, Class of 1966; Delton Antley, Class of 1956; David Ebarb, Class of 1995; Ronnie Eastepp, Class of 1965; Sallye Thompson Evans, Class of 1953; Carolyn Lipscomb, Class of 1977; and Lenora “Lynn” Collins Due, Class of 1943 associate member.

Each of these names represent families who are dealing with the pain of their passing, and we ask for comfort and peace as they deal with their loss.

My best wishes for you and your family for a wonderful Christmas as well as a happy, healthy new year. We look forward to all the good news that will come from our Groveton school family as well as the Groveton Ex-Students Association.

Go, Big Red.

Jo Ann Anderson Beken is president of the Groveton Ex-Students Association.

Say something here...
symbols left.
You are a guest
or post as a guest
Loading comment... The comment will be refreshed after 00:00.

Be the first to comment.