Log in

Top Stories        News         Sports

Speed limits to change

Write a comment
Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

coldspringcityBy Tony Farkas
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

COLDSPRING — Following approval from the Texas Department of Transportation, speed limits on State Highway 156 will change.

Mayor John Benestante said that at the Coldspring City Council meeting on March 4, the council passed a resolution in favor of the change. That resolution was sent to TxDOT, and following its approval, the signs will be changed.

The resolution was passed following a study performed by TxDOT.

The new limit, which will be from State Highway 150 to the city limits, will be 40 mph, down from 50 mph, and the change to the school zone speed near Lincoln Junior High School will be 25 mph.

In other business, the council:

•discussed amending its sewer ordinance regarding multiple taps and multiple meters, and rolling back residential taps to flat fee instead of metered;

•discussed moving the Coldspring Community Center under the umbrella of the city, and has requested information from City Attorney Greg Magee;

•discussed constructing storage building on land the city owns instead of purchasing new property;

•approved a permit for a Christian motorcycle rally set for May 11;

•canceled a city election as there were no contested races. Benestante and council members Dianne Griffiths and Nichole Gatewood will retain their posts, and the city saves $15,000 to $20,000 in election costs;

•discussed the city’s mobile home ordinance as it would apply to an investor looking to put two double-wide mobile homes on a 2-acre tract;

•approved drafting an memorandum of understanding with San Jacinto County Permitting Office; and

•discussed the donation of right-of-way on Perry Drive from Coldspring-Oakhurst CISD.

Say something here...
symbols left.
You are a guest
or post as a guest
Loading comment... The comment will be refreshed after 00:00.

Be the first to comment.