Log in

Top Stories        News         Sports

Shepherd students win several awards

Write a comment
Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

The Shepherd High School FFA group won first in a recent Tractor Tech event. The Shepherd High School FFA group won first in a recent Tractor Tech event.

SJNT staff

Students from several organizations in Shepherd ISD competed in events last week, bringing home numerous first- and second-place awards.

The Shepherd High School HOSA officers had a good performance at the Area 6 Spring Leadership Conference.

Landen Billingsley took first place in the phlebotomy skills test, earning a ticket to the state competition in April. Cacee Harper earned fourth place in the online nutrition test, securing a spot as an alternate at the state level.

Kelsey Fisk and Emma Haag made their voices heard as voting delegates, while Miracle Hardin and Sarya Contreras ran competition events as courtesy corps.

At the Region IV FCCLA Conference, 14 students will advance to state after taking two gold and nine silver medals.

First-place winners were Cacee Harper and Savannah Smith for family and consumer science assessments.

Second-place winners in FCSA include Alexia Hardy, Jariely Rodriguez, Alivia Whitworth, Debahni Cantata, Victoria Gonzalez, Alexis Wiess, Kiley Alley, Maddison Hill and Kristen Thackery.

Other winners include Alivia Whitworth, third place for Texas Toys that Teach; Debahni Cantata and Victoria Gonzalez, fifth Place for Texas Toys that Teach; and Jariely Rodriguez, fourth place for Focus on Children.

The Shepherd FFA team won the Area 9 Tractor Tech event, while the first-place high individual was Ronnie Charles, the second-place high individual was Thomas Barton, and the third-place high individual was Garrit Burton.

The team moves on to compete at state on March 3 at the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo.

Say something here...
symbols left.
You are a guest
or post as a guest
Loading comment... The comment will be refreshed after 00:00.

Be the first to comment.