Log in

Top Stories        News         Sports

Council cancels election

Write a comment
Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

112323 shepherd cityMark Porter, Curtis Ainsworth and Ray Marrs were sworn in as council members by Mayor Charles Minton. Courtesy photos

By Tony Farkas
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

With three council members running unopposed for re-election, the Shepherd City Council canceled its election at its meeting on Nov. 13.
Mark Porter, Curtis Ainsworth and Ray Marrs took their oaths at the meeting, administered by Mayor Charles Minton.

Certificates were issued in lieu of the election; canceling the election saves the city money.

In other business, the council:

  • denied a discount rate for Lisa Henderson regarding renting the Community Center;
  • denied a rate increase request for Centerpoint/Entergy;
  • denied a request from Mike Rose to abandon an easement on Second Street as his property is only one of four lots connected to easement;
  • approved the current tax roll from the San Jacinto County Appraisal District;
  • cast its votes for Melodie Arrendell for a board position with the San Jacinto County Appraisal District;
  • appointed Council Member Mark Porter to fill a vacancy on the Economic Development Counci;
  • hired Anthony Whitten as a full-time police officer, replacing Mark Gustafson; and
  • •hired Carolyn McCurry as utility/court clerk, replacing Monique Wilder.

Say something here...
symbols left.
You are a guest
or post as a guest
Loading comment... The comment will be refreshed after 00:00.

Be the first to comment.