Log in

Top Stories        News         Sports

COCISD School Board members recognized

Write a comment
Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

COISD Board Members

Special to the News-Times

COLDSPRING — January is School Board Recognition Month in Texas and Coldspring-Oakhurst CISD is proud to honor and celebrate its board of trustees. 

“These selfless men and women are elected volunteers who spend long hours in training, planning, and a multitude of meetings every year to ensure all of our students have the opportunity to learn and grow,” said COCISD Superintendent Dr. Bryan Taulton. “They truly care about our students, families, staff, and community.”

The school board members who serve our district are President Paul Buchanan, Vice President Daniel Williams, Secretary Tony Sewell, Trustee William B. Baker, Trustee Berlin Bradford, Trustee Barbara Moore and Trustee Ashney Shelly.

“School boards are essential to a strong public education system,” said Texas Association of School Boards Executive Director Dan Troxell. “They provide the local governance and oversight that makes it possible for school districts to serve students, including establishing a strategic plan, adopting policies, approving a budget, and selecting and evaluating a superintendent. It’s fitting that we celebrate them in January as their leadership is key to the success of every school district in Texas.”

The COCISD Board of Trustees will be honored at this month’s regular meeting on Monday, Jan. 24, at the Jones Educational Complex Auditorium. Meetings start at 6:30 p.m.

Say something here...
symbols left.
You are a guest
or post as a guest
Loading comment... The comment will be refreshed after 00:00.

Be the first to comment.