Log in

Top Stories        News         Sports

Early voting totals 755 for week one

Write a comment
Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive


By Chris Edwards
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

TYLER COUNTY – Tyler County voters made it to the polling place for the early voting period in numbers of 755 for the first week.

According to the Tyler County Clerk’s Office, those ballots cast represent 724 Republican ballots and 31 Democrat ballots. A representative of the office also reported that on Monday, those totals numbered 125 GOP ballots and seven Democratic ballots.

The period of early voting for the Tuesday, March 5 primary runs through Friday, March 1. It began last week on Tuesday, Feb. 20.

The primary election day, March 5, is typically referred to as “Super Tuesday,” as it is the date when the biggest number of states hold their primaries for the Republican and Democratic parties. One-third of all delegates needed to go onto the presidential nominating conventions can be won on that date, as well.

The Green and Libertarian parties select their candidates through a series of local conventions beginning on March 12 and then are announced at a state convention for each party.

All mail-in ballots must be postmarked by 7 p.m. on the day of the primary.

As 2024 is a presidential election year, the respective primary candidates of each major party are at the top of the ballot, but in Tyler County, the office of Tyler County Sheriff has incumbent Bryan Weatherford facing challenger Michael “Mike” King for the GOP primary.

For the office of Pct. 2 Constable, voters in that precinct have a choice in the Republican primary of incumbent Casey Whitworth or challenger Donald Calhoon, IV.

Incumbent Rep. Trent Ashby (R-Lufkin) is being challenged for the GOP primary by Paulette Carson, of Trinity County.

Say something here...
symbols left.
You are a guest
or post as a guest
Loading comment... The comment will be refreshed after 00:00.

Be the first to comment.