Log in

Top Stories        News         Sports

Trinity County gets new treasurer; Young wins re-election bid

Write a comment
Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

Trinity Countyseal 200By Tony Farkas
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

GROVETON — Trinity County’s new treasurer will be Orrin Hargrave, who won his election bid against Cheryl Boggs Savage, will now be captain of the county’s accounts.

Hargrave won 4,396 to 826 in the Nov. 8 general election, and replaces Bob Dockens, who lost in the May primary.

Audrey Young won re-election to State Board of Education District 8 with 4,481 votes over Rhett Rosenquest Smith’s 584.

In the race for State Senator for District 3, incumbent Robert Nichols won re-election with 4,417 votes over Steve Russell with 772 and Desarae Lindsey with 76.

Trent Ashby won re-election with 4,507, although his district in now designated District 9 because of redistricting. Opponent Jason Rogers received 741 votes.

In the Apple Springs ISD School Board election, all incumbents were re-elected. Daniel Murray received 256 votes, Tonya Odom received 212, Amanda Roden received 208, and Jenny Sanders received 167. A challenger, Melanie Aycock, received 158 votes; since candidates run at-large, the top four vote-getters were considered winners.

Unopposed candidates declared elected:

•Travis Kitchens, 258th Judicial District Judge

•Danny Martin, County Judge

•Jullian Phillip-Steptoe, District Clerk

•Shasta Bergman, County Clerk

•Mike Loftin, County Commissioner Precinct 2

•Steven Truss, County Commissioner Precinct 4

•Mary Wallace, Justice of the Peace Precinct 1

•Lyle Stubbs, Justice of the Peace Precinct 2

•Keith Johnson, Justice of the Peace Precinct 3

•Richard Steptoe, Justice of the Peace Precinct 4

Say something here...
symbols left.
You are a guest
or post as a guest
Loading comment... The comment will be refreshed after 00:00.

Be the first to comment.