Log in

Top Stories        News         Sports

New faces in Trinity County government

Write a comment
Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

Trinity Countyseal 200By Tony Farkas
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

GROVETON — With no Democratic challenger filing for the primary, Danny Martin will become the new Trinity County Judge.

Martin picked up 1,645 votes ahead of challenger Steven Jones, who garnered 1,317, during the Primary Election on Tuesday. The two were seeking the Republican nomination to replace Doug Page, who opted not to run again.

Incumbent County Treasurer Bob Dockens lost the GOP nomination to Orrin Hargrave 1,676 to 1,106. Hargrave will face Democratic challenger Cheryl Boggs Savage, who ran unopposed on the Democrat ticket.

Another incumbent, District Clerk Kristen Raiford, lost her primary nomination bid to Jillian Steptoe 1,429 to 1,405. Since Steptoe garnered 50.42 percent of the vote, no runoff will be held, according to Elections Administrator Priscilla Rasbeary.

To fill the open Justice of the Peace Precinct 3 slot, Keith Johnson picked up 496 votes to challenger Lenzy Meshell Hargrave’s 237. The spot was left unfilled following the death of Hayne Huffman.

District Judge Travis Kitchens held off a challenge from Polk County DA Lee Hon in the 258th District — which includes Trinity, Polk and San Jacinto counties — by getting 7,505 votes, or 54.86 percent, to Hon’s 6,156. However, in Trinity County, Hon had 1,617 votes to Kitchens’ 1,419.

Say something here...
symbols left.
You are a guest
or post as a guest
Loading comment... The comment will be refreshed after 00:00.

Be the first to comment.