Log in

Top Stories        News         Sports

Trinity leadership changes

Write a comment
Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive


By Tony Farkas

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

While most incumbents retained their seats, Mayor Wayne Huffman of Trinity has been unseated by challenger and Mayor Pro Tem Billy Goodin.

The two statewide propositions passed overwhelmingly, and incumbents in the city of Trinity, the city of Groveton and the Trinity ISD all were re-elected.

Proposition 1, which will benefit individuals with an over-65 or disabled exemption on their property, passed 86.92 percent to 13.08, or 1,069,963 to 161,032.

The amendment will become effective Jan. 1, 2023.

Proposition 2 increases the homestead exemption by $15,000, and passed 84.84 percent 15.16 percent, or 1,058,511 to 189,087.

It is now effective, so homeowners will see the savings when they receive their property tax bill this fall.

In the other races in Trinity County:

In the city of Trinity races, Mayor Pro Tem Billy Goodin, with 270 votes, won over incumbent Mayor Wayne Huffman, who had 93, and Jimmy McCasland, who had 69.

For Council Member Position 1, incumbent Clegg DeWalt defeated Willie Evans Jr. 291-123; for Council Member Position 2, incumbent Bubba Smith defeated Martha Gray 243-169; and for Council Member Position 3, incumbent Chris Dennis lost to Scott Womack, 237-179.

For Trinity ISD, School Board President Kevin Searcy with 446 votes, along with incumbent board members Maggie Trevino with 331 votes and Monty Andrew Huffman with 436 votes, all retained their positions on the board. In this race, the top three vote-getters are considered winners.

In the Groveton city election, the three incumbents won re-election out of a field of eight; Mayor Pro Tem Ralph Bennett with 84 votes, Stephen Casper with 66 and Joe Don Kennedy with 59. In this race, the top three vote-getters are considered winners.

A runoff election for state offices will be held May 24.

The races on that ballot include state offices only.

For those in the Democratic party, the ballot contains four races: Michelle Beckley and Mike Collier for lieutenant governor; Rochelle Mercedes Garza and Joe Jaworski for Attorney General; Angel Luis Vega and Janet T. Dudding for Comptroller of Public Accounts; and Sandragrace Martinez and Jay Kleberg for Commissioner of the General Land Office.

For Republicans, those races include: George P. Bush and Ken Paxton for Attorney General; Tim Westley and Dawn Buckingham for Commissioner of the General Land Office; and Sarah Stogner and Wayne Christian for Railroad Commissioner.

Early voting for the runoff runs May 16-20 from 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Polling stations are at the Groveton VFD, Apple Springs VFD and Trinity City Hall.

On May 24, polls will be open from 7 a.m.-7 p.m. at Groveton VFD, Apple Springs VFD, Trinity City Hall and Trinity Community Center.

Say something here...
symbols left.
You are a guest
or post as a guest
Loading comment... The comment will be refreshed after 00:00.

Be the first to comment.