Log in

Top Stories        News         Sports

PCPC newspapers earn awards

Write a comment
Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

080422 ChrisEmilyTony

At Texas Press Association Convention

From Enterprise Staff

Polk County Publishing Company received 26 awards, six of which were first place, in the 2020-2021 Texas Better Newspaper Contest during the 142nd annual Texas Press Association (TPA) Convention and Trade Show June 28-30 in San Marcos. This year, 80 newspapers submitted 850 entries in the contest.

Publisher Kelli Barnes, Polk County Enterprise Editor Emily Banks Wooten, Tony Farkas, editor of the Trinity County News-Standard and the San Jacinto News-Times, and Chris Edwards, editor of the Tyler County Booster and the Houston County Courier, attended the convention and trade show, participating in numerous informative sessions on current industry topics.

The Polk County Enterprise, in Division 3, won first place awards for headline writing and news writing, second place for sports coverage, second place for best magazine, third place for feature writing, fourth place for column writing and fourth place for general excellence.

The Tyler County Booster, in Division 7, won first place for advertising and second place for feature writing, third place for headline writing, third place for feature photography and third place for column writing.

The Houston County Courier, in Division 6, received a third place for sports photography, a third place for news writing, a fourth place for headline writing and a fourth place for feature writing.

The Trinity County News-Standard, in Division 8, won first place in both headline writing and news photography, a second place in column writing, a third place in general excellence and a fourth place in sports coverage.

The San Jacinto News-Times, in Division 9, won first place for headline writing, third place for feature photography, fourth place for column writing, fourth place for sports photography and fourth place for general excellence.

Four individuals were inducted into the Texas Newspaper Foundation’s Texas Newspaper Hall of Fame for exemplary service to their communities and to the Texas newspaper industry. These included: Robert Moore, Greg Shrader, Ed Sterling and George Dolan, posthumously.
Nonnie Barton, of The Fayette County Record, and Mary Henkel Judson, of the Port Aransas South Jetty, were honored with TPA’s Golden 50 Award which honors men and women who have displayed exemplary service and selfless contributions to journalism for 50 or more years.
Next year’s convention and trade show is slated for June 1-3 at the Kalahari Resort in Round Rock.

Say something here...
symbols left.
You are a guest
or post as a guest
Loading comment... The comment will be refreshed after 00:00.

Be the first to comment.