Log in

Top Stories        News         Sports

Filing underway for March primaries

Write a comment
Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

election logoBy Emily Banks Wooten
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

The filing period for the 2022 Texas Primary Elections officially opened Saturday, allowing candidates to file with their respective party chairs for a place on the March 1, 2022 primary ballot.

For primary elections, candidates file their applications with their state party chairs or, in the event that a district is wholly contained within a single county, their county party chairs. The state and county chairs, in turn, upload approved candidates into the Texas Secretary of State’s portal.

The filing period for county, district and statewide offices ends at 6 p.m. Dec. 13. Early voting for the March 1, 2022 Primary Elections begins on Feb. 14.

Locally, the following seats will be on the ballot: 258th Judicial District Judge Travis E. Kitchens Jr., Criminal District Attorney William Lee Hon, District Clerk Bobbye Christopher, County Clerk Schelana Hock, County Judge Sydney Murphy, County Treasurer Terri Williams, Precinct 2 Commissioner Ronnie Vincent, Precinct 4 Commissioner Tommy Overstreet, County Court at Law Judge Tom Brown, Precinct 1 Justice of the Peace Darrell G. Longino, Precinct 2 Justice of the Peace Sarah Rasberry, Precinct 3 Justice of Peace Robert “Dooley” Johnson and Precinct 4 Justice of the Peace Jamie Richardson.

Both Hon and Longino have said they are not seeking reelection.





Say something here...
symbols left.
You are a guest
or post as a guest
Loading comment... The comment will be refreshed after 00:00.

Be the first to comment.