Log in

Top Stories        News         Sports

Election 2020

Write a comment
Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

Michael Kelly is registered to vote on Tuesday by alternate election judges Della Lyons and Mary Rhoden at the Groveton High School precinct. (Tony Farkas Photo)Michael Kelly is registered to vote on Tuesday by alternate election judges Della Lyons and Mary Rhoden at the Groveton High School precinct. (Tony Farkas Photo)

Staff Reports

Although the presidential election has been forefront in most news as well as most minds, other races in Trinity County were decided in Tuesday’s election.

But other than races on the national and state level, as well as the Trinity Hospital District, most county-level races were unopposed, and the general election only solidified the win.

The county did go overwhelmingly for President Donald Trump, giving him 5,427 votes, and only 1,290 for challenger Joe Biden.

In the race for the District 8 seat in the U.S. House of Representative, incumbent Republican Kevin Brady garnered 5,387 votes in the county, while Democrat challenger Elizabeth Hernandez picked up 1,157.

The vote totals reflect only Trinity County votes.

On the state level, Republican Trent Ashby, incumbent District 57 House member, gained 5,445 votes in the county, while challenger Jason Rogers, a Democrat, picked up 1,112 votes.

For the Trinity Hospital District Position 2, incumbent Randy Karnes picked up 1,050 votes, while challenger Claudette Loper garnered 785. For Position 4, incumbent Laura Huffman received 1,143 votes, and challenger Jerry Coma got 674. For Position 6, incumbent Carlyn Bluis received 838 votes, but was upset by challenger Steve Hancock, who picked up 1,085. For Position 8, incumbent Keith Johnson, running unopposed, received 1,662 votes.

The unopposed county race results were:

•411th Judicial District Judge: John Wells, 5,551

•258th Judicial District Judge: Bennie L. Schiro, 5,630

•County Attorney: Colton Hay, 5,682

•Sheriff: Woody A. Wallace, 5,614

•County Tax Assessor/Collector: Nancy Due Shanafelt, 5,619

•County Commissioner Precinct 1: Tommy Park, 1,500

•County Commissioner Precinct 3: Neal Smith, 1,249

•County Constable Precinct 1: Jeremy Alexander, 1,492

•County Constable Precinct 2: Mark Cole, 1,499

•County Constable Precinct 3: Carl Casey, 1,265

•County Constable Precinct 4: Brian McMullen, 1,389

All vote results are unofficial until canvassed by the Trinity County Commissioners’ Court.

In the Trinity city election, Mayor Wayne Huffman was re-elected handily with 428 votes. For Council Position 1, incumbent Clegg E. DeWalt, running unopposed, received 465 votes. For Position 2, Jason “Bubba” Smith was re-elected with 242 votes, outlasting Johnny L. English with 156 votes and Evan Arnold with 192. Chris Dennis was re-elected to Position 3 with 450 votes.

Say something here...
symbols left.
You are a guest
or post as a guest
Loading comment... The comment will be refreshed after 00:00.

Be the first to comment.