Log in

Top Stories        News         Sports

Broadband office seeking public input

Write a comment
Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

Broadband Grapic

By Chris Edwards
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

AUSTIN – State Comptroller Glenn Hegar put out word recently that the public’s help is paramount in helping to bridge the digital divide in Texas.

“Too many Texans still don’t have a reliable internet connection – or any connection at all,” Hegar said in a public noticed issued by his office last week. 

The Texas Broadband Development Office, which was established as a result of the last legislative session, is hosting a survey for Texans to complete, as a step in the statewide plan to expand access to high-speed broadband internet.

During the 87th legislative session last year, Governor Greg Abbott made broadband access and emergency item, and signed several broadband-related bills into law, including House Bill 5, which will work to expand access by requiring the established broadband office to develop a plan.

Abbott held a press conference last week in McAllen at the College of Healthcare Professions (CHP), where he was presented with the Broadband Champion Award by Connect the Future Texas for his commitment to promoting connectivity.

“Expanding broadband is essential in our modern world, which is why Texas prioritized legislation to dramatically expand broadband access throughout the Lone Star State,” Abbott said.

Abbott, in the press conference, went on to note how high-speed internet allows for programs such as CHP’s to flourish. 

Hegar stressed the importance of high-speed internet, as “a necessity, improving education, healthcare, job creation, public safety and more. It’s too important to ignore,” he said.

Residents can complete the survey by accessing the website BroadbandForTexas.com or calling 833-383-9236.

Say something here...
symbols left.
You are a guest
or post as a guest
Loading comment... The comment will be refreshed after 00:00.

Be the first to comment.